Spanish Almonds

Spanish Almonds

I like to have these treats on hand to serve with a glass of wine or cocktails, so I make them about once a month. They don’t last long at my house.

In the photo you can see that I did not use whole almonds.  Sometimes I do, but I wanted to use these almonds in a salad I was making, so I wanted them to be a smaller size.

1  cup olive oil

3 cups blanched almonds

1/2 cup torn fresh sage leaves

1/4 cup chopped fresh rosemary leaves

Heat the oil in a large pan over medium heat. When the oil is hot, but not boiling, add the almonds, sage and rosemary. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the almonds begin to turn toasty brown. Drain the almonds from the hot oil and spread them on a tray covered with a layer of paper towels. Sprinkle coarse sea salt over all.  Allow to cool and then store in an airtight container.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

