Easy Cocktail Meatballs

Easy Cocktail Meatballs

We were having friends in for dinner and I wanted an easy appetizer that didn’t take much effort on my part.  And it doesn’t get much more effortless than Easy Cocktail Meatballs. And I like the retro feel that cocktail meatballs have.

I hadn’t made cocktail meatballs in years and I was surprised at how quickly they were devoured by the Husband and our 4 guests.  In fact at the end of the evening, not one meatball was left.

If I wasn’t in the mood for effortless, I may have made the meatballs myself, but it’s so easy to use the frozen meatballs, which are all exactly the same size. I used the bbq sauce that I had on hand, nothing special. And this time I cooked them, covered, in a 200 degree oven for 1 1/2 hour and then at 350 degrees, uncovered, for 1/2 hour. Of course using a slow cooker is also an option, but mine is quite large and I didn’t want to get it out for just one pound of meatballs.

Easy Cocktail Meatballs

16 ounces frozen meatballs

1/2 cup bbq sauce

1/2 cup grape jelly

1 tablespoon hearty red wine

1/4 teaspoon chili garlic sauce

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees.

Place the meatballs in an oven-proof dish.

Mix the bbq sauce, grape jelly, wine, and chili garlic sauce in a bowl. Pour over the meatballs.

Cover the baking dish and cook the meatballs at 200 degrees for ninety minutes. Increase the temperature to 350 degrees.  Remove the cover from the dish and cook for another 30 minutes.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

